Every brand puts berberine on the front of the box. Two of the five don't say how much is in the patch. Only one prints a milligram beside all 23 of its ingredients — the one thing you can check yourself before you buy.
A patch has one job a capsule doesn't: get the active through skin. That puts a hard ceiling on the formula. Only small molecules cross the barrier, and only what is actually loaded onto the pad can cross at all. So the number that decides whether a berberine patch does anything is the number most brands don't print — how much active is in it, and in what form.
We pulled the published Supplement Facts panel on the five best-known berberine patches. One of them lists 23 actives with an individual milligram beside each, berberine included — in two forms. Two of the rest publish no amounts at all, and another leaves part of its formula as a blend or complex, so there is no way to tell exactly what you are getting.
That is the whole finding. Not a taste test, not a ranking of packaging. The labels are public, and they disagree with the marketing.
"Advanced Herbal Complex — 20mg" tells you the weight of the bag, not what is in it. When a brand can print the number and chooses not to, that is the answer.
Berberine is a plant compound from goldenseal, barberry and Oregon grape, and one of the most studied botanicals for glucose handling. It is also hard on some stomachs. Four reasons people reach for it as a patch.
Not hunger exactly — the low-grade pull toward the kitchen that runs all afternoon. Satiety ingredients are aimed at this specifically.
Berberine, cinnamon, bitter melon and chromium all sit in this cluster. It is the most studied part of the category, and the part most patches cover.
Capsules with berberine are hard on some stomachs, and a supplement you stop taking does nothing. A patch is an alternative for people who find capsules hard to stick with.
Appetite signalling shifts with hormones and with sleep. This is the demographic the category is built around, and it is who most of these labels are written for.
All three are printed on the box or the product page. None of them require you to trust a review — including this one.
Not "proprietary blend." Not "complex — 20mg." A milligram beside each ingredient. This is the single cheapest signal of whether a brand is confident in its own formula, and it is the one that separates the top pick from everything else on this page.
Appetite is not one mechanism. Satiety (apple cider vinegar, garcinia, psyllium, L-glutamine), blood sugar already within normal range (berberine, cinnamon, bitter melon, chromium, mulberry) and gut–brain signalling (prebiotic fiber) are three separate levers. Berberine on its own is a blood-sugar ingredient. The other four lead with berberine and add little that works on the other two.
Transdermal delivery is gradual by design, so the hours matter: 8–12 hours is up to 50% more contact time than 8. And a guarantee is a company's own estimate of how often its product works. Read the number of days as exactly that.
It is the most studied one, which is why every brand leads with it. But berberine works on glucose handling. Feeling satisfied on a smaller plate is a different mechanism, driven by different compounds, and a formula with only berberine covers one of the three pathways.
Every figure below is transcribed from the brand's own published ingredient panel. Where a cell reads not published, the brand does not disclose it.
|
Top Pick
Ledisa
#1 Pick
|
Kind Patches #2 |
PatchAid #3 |
MONIER #4 |
PatchMD #5 |
|
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Criteria met | 3 of 3 | 2 of 3 | 1 of 3 | 1 of 3 | 0 of 3 |
| Actives disclosed | 23, each with mg | 5 lines | 3 grouped complexes | not published | 3 named |
| Total active per patch | 94 mg | 25 mg | 36.05 mg | not published | not published |
| Every dose listed separately | ✓ | – | – | – | – |
| Berberine | 11 mg | 8.75 mg | 7 mg | ✓ | ✓ |
| Apple cider vinegar | 6 mg | – | – | amount not published | – |
| Prebiotic fiber | 5 mg | – | – | form not published | – |
| Satiety ingredients | 4 | 1 | – | 2 | – |
| Wear window | 8–12 hrs | up to 8 hrs | up to 8 hrs | 8 hrs | up to 8 hrs |
| Money-back guarantee | 90 days | 30 days | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| Score | 9.7 | 8.5 | 7.9 | 7.2 | 6.7 |
Panels read September 2026 from each brand's own product page. Totals are the sum of the individually stated amounts; where a brand publishes only a combined figure for a complex, that combined figure is used. Amounts change without notice — check the current label before you buy.
23 disclosed actives · 30 patches · 1-month supply
Garcinia cambogia 8mg · berberine extract 8mg · cinnamon 6mg · curcumin 6mg · apple cider vinegar 6mg · bitter melon 5mg · mulberry leaf 5mg · pomegranate 5mg · L-glutamine 5mg · prebiotic fiber 5mg · hops 4mg · berberine HCl 3mg · resveratrol 3mg · green tea 3mg · B1, B2, B3, B6, B9, B12 at 3mg each · chromium picolinate 2mg · whey protein isolate 1mg · psyllium husk 1mg.
The other four patches on this page lead with berberine and add little beyond it. Ledisa carries the most berberine of the five and is the only one that covers satiety and gut–brain signalling as well — and the only one that prints every amount, so you can verify that claim yourself in about thirty seconds. It is the most transparent label in the category, and it is also the fullest one.
Berberine 8.75mg · 25mg disclosed · 5 line items
36.05mg across 3 grouped complexes · Berberine 7mg · Gymnema sylvestre
Berberine, prebiotics and apple cider vinegar named · Berberine amount not published · 60 patches
3 named actives · Berberine, green tea extract, vitamin C · Amounts not published
Transdermal delivery is gradual by design. Ingredient studies typically run four to eight weeks. Individual experience varies.
A clean, dry spot, rotated daily. Consistency matters more than timing, so most people tie it to something they already do every morning.
These are daily-use ingredients, not same-day ones. This is the window where consistency matters more than any single patch.
Blood-sugar ingredients like berberine and chromium are cumulative, not acute. The 90-day guarantee covers the whole window, so you can judge it for yourself.
Of the five best-known berberine patches, one tells you exactly how much berberine you are wearing — and lets you verify every other claim without leaving the product page. That is not a small thing in a category built on blend names — and it happens to be the fullest formula of the five as well.
If it is not for you, the 90-day guarantee is three times the only other stated guarantee on this page.
Free shipping on your first order · Cancel a subscription anytime
Berberine is the most studied ingredient in this category, and nearly all of that research is about glucose handling. Appetite is a related but separate process, driven by gut hormones involved in satiety and by what else is in the formula.
The ingredients studied around this pathway fall into three groups, and they are not interchangeable. Berberine, cinnamon, bitter melon, mulberry leaf and chromium sit on the glucose-handling side. Apple cider vinegar, garcinia, psyllium husk and L-glutamine sit on the satiety side. Prebiotic fiber feeds the gut bacteria involved in the signalling itself. A formula built from only the first group is a blood-sugar product wearing an appetite label.
Transdermal delivery adds a second constraint on top of that. Skin is a barrier, and molecular size governs what crosses it — which is why the form of an ingredient, not only its presence, belongs on the panel. A brand that will not publish the amount is unlikely to publish the form.
None of this requires trusting a review. It requires reading a label, and two of the five brands here don't let you.
A capsule has to survive the stomach; a patch does not. That is the whole trade. The upside is that berberine — the ingredient most people find hard on their digestion — is not swallowed. The downside is a ceiling on how much can cross the skin, which is exactly why the disclosed amount on the panel matters more here than it does on a bottle of capsules.
The satiety ingredients act on appetite signalling and most people describe a difference in the first week or two. The blood-sugar ingredients are cumulative and are judged over four to eight weeks of daily use. This is not a same-day supplement, and any brand promising that is overselling.
The support ends with the patch. These are daily-use ingredients with no depot effect, so consistency does more than any single box — which is also why running out matters more than most people expect, and why the multi-month packs exist.
No, and it is important to be clear about it. These are dietary supplement patches containing botanical and vitamin ingredients. They are not drugs, they contain no prescription medication, and they are not a substitute for one. Anything you are prescribed is a conversation for your doctor, not a review site.
A clean, dry, hair-free area — inner forearm, shoulder and hip are the usual spots — rotated each day. Every patch here is single-use. The top pick is rated water-resistant with an 8–12 hour window; most of the others are rated to 8.
Entirely on published, verifiable product specifications: the Supplement Facts panel, the stated wear window and the stated guarantee. We did not run a clinical trial and we do not claim to have. Every figure in the comparison table can be checked against the brand's own product page, which is the point of publishing it that way.
Cited research concerns the individual ingredients named, not the finished patch products reviewed on this page. No study listed here tested any of these five products.
MyHealthyShape is a supplement review site. We receive compensation from certain companies whose products are featured on this page when you click a link and make a purchase, including the product ranked number one. In some cases we may have a direct financial interest in a featured product.
What that compensation does not do is change a published ingredient panel. Every figure in the comparison table on this page — ingredient counts, milligram amounts, wear windows and guarantee lengths — is transcribed from each brand's own product page and can be verified there in under a minute. Where a brand does not publish a number, we say so rather than estimate it.
Product specifications change without notice. Always read the current label before purchasing.